My kind of NZ Town is a toss between a Queen and an Arrow

When I have already spent a couple of days in New Zealand, I was starting to realize that this fresh country is giving Japan (my most favorite country) a good run for their money.  Everything seem so fresh, nice and clean in New Zealand.  Crime rate in NZ is basically nil like that of Osaka and even the public toilets were as clean as those found in the Nippon country.

Actually, I have long realized that if I will be given the opportunity to live in Japan, without a batting an eyelash, I would easily choose Osaka.  But in New Zealand, it would be a toss between two awesome towns.  I would like to live either in Queenstown or Arrowtown.

who would not want an afternoon sight like this

who would not want an afternoon sight like this

colors of queenstown

colors of queenstown

seating by the bench...

seating by the bench…

Queenstown is a bit small in terms of size and population for it to be considered a city, but the vibe and energy it displays is sweepingly large in scale.  I particularly loved the cosmopolitan restaurants.  The multi-ethnic offerings of these restaurants to its residence and visitors are impressively wide ranging.

No one should get bored when staying in this modernized town.  From bungy jumping to jumping off a plane or riding a crazy rough speedboat, Queenstown can be considered as adventurer’s haven.  But what I particularly love about this town is that aside from doing adrenaline-filled activities, you can take time to a slow down.  You can simply find a lakeside bench and engross yourself to the beauty of the nature.

early arrowtown spring

early arrowtown spring

colors of arrowtown

colors of arrowtown

taking it easy at arrowtown...

taking it easy at arrowtown…

Arrowtown on the other hand is a quaint little town just minutes away by car from Queenstown.  The tree-lined avenues (which I suspect changes its looks and color depending on the season) as well as the fashionable shops at the main road (Buckingham Street) are two of the nicest areas that this town boasts about.  And like Queenstown it also has a wide array of excellent restaurants.

This historic gold-rush town seem to possess an alluring character that is uniquely of its own.  It is so charming we actually drove twice in this town to further explore the sights and we even walked a short riverside nature trail to breathe some of the freshest air on earth.

Arrowtown has a much slower pace as compared to Queenstown.  Another impressive character of this town is that it is uncrowded. I suppose this is the place that Queenstown locals go to if they wish to have some quiet time for themselves or with their family.

I live at the most densely populated city in the world.  There is never a day in my city that I would not see a human being.  Everywhere I look, everywhere I go and everywhere I smell there is someone near me.  Thus, the uncrowded yet colorful places like Queenstown and Arrowtown for me are true gems of a place.

Samdey… samdey… titira din ako dyan!

Leave a comment